David M. Schwarz is the Founder & Chairman of the Washington, DC-based design firm David M. Schwarz Architects. Mr. Schwarz received his Bachelor’s Degree from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland and earned his Masters of Architecture from Yale University in 1974. Mr. Schwarz was recently named the 2015 Driehaus Prize Laureate, was the 2014 recipient of the Arthur Ross Award and received one of the first President’s Awards from the National Building Museum. His work has also received awards from the Urban Land Institute, Congress of New Urbanism, American Institute of Architects, Society of American Registered Architects, National Sculpture Society and others.

In addition to his duties at DMSAS, Mr. Schwarz also serves as Chairman of the Yale School of Architecture Dean’s Council; a member of the Executive Committee of the Yale University Capital Campaign; and has previously led studios at both Yale University and the University of Notre Dame. Mr. Schwarz is a Sterling Fellow at Yale University.

Mr. Schwarz is also a past member of the Board of Directors of the National Building Museum, the Board of Overseers for the Corcoran Gallery of Art, and the Institute for Classical Architecture and Classical America. Additionally, he serves as the Jury Chairman for the Vincent J. Scully Prize Fund Endowment of the National Building Museum.